DWI Lawyers Standing Up for Clients Throughout New Jersey
Driving under the influence can change your life forever. Aside from the grave danger that’s imposed upon yourself and over drivers on the road, the consequences of driving while intoxicated can land you a lengthy sentence in jail, high fines, and you may even suffer a license suspension. New Jersey state law is tough on DWI cases and penalizes to the full extent those found to be drunk driving or driving under the influence of drugs.
At The Bianchi Law Group, LLC, our DUI defense attorneys understand that accidents happen. We believe you should have the right to defend yourself against any mistakes you made and should have a fighting chance at having your charges reduced or dismissed entirely.
Under the United States Constitution, every individual accused of a crime has the right to a fair trial and a right to quality legal representation. At The Bianchi Law Group, LLC, we offer a free consultation to anyone that’s been accused of DWI charges. We pledge to offer sound legal advice and a clear path for your defense moving forward. You deserve to understand the full extent of the law and every option you have for reducing your imminent penalties.
How is a DWI Defined According to New Jersey State Law?
A DWI/DUI charge involves drinking, using drugs, or any other controlled substance while operating a motor vehicle. Anytime someone has been drinking or using certain kinds of prescription drugs, operating heavy machinery presents a risk.
Under state and federal law, an individual is deemed guilty of drunk driving if field sobriety testing (breath testing) determines their Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is at 0.08 percent or higher. New Jersey is a “zero tolerance” state, which means those that are under the legal drinking age of 21 and have any blood alcohol content at all, even below 0.08%, will be arrested. Penalties for those under the age of 18 that are found to be drinking and driving are typically more severe than those at the legal age.
It’s important to remember that the state of New Jersey also can convict those who have knowingly allowed another person to drive when they were aware that the individual was drunk or under the influence of drugs. In situations where multiple people have been drinking and someone is driving, always choose the safest option and call a friend or taxi. Even if you aren’t driving the vehicle, you can get in trouble for being complicit in the act of drunk driving.
New Jersey State law refers to a 0.08 percent BAC as too impaired to drive. However, even if a breath test determines your blood alcohol concentration is below the legal limit of 0.08%, you can still be arrested for drunk driving if you are found to be impaired behind the wheel. For example, if you’ve hit another car and are found to have a blood alcohol content, you can be arrested for being under the influence while driving, and any associated damages you caused may be linked to your intoxication. Any amount of alcohol can impair an individual behind the wheel, and the risks associated with operating a motor vehicle while drunk are too severe to be ignored.
In the event that you are pulled over under suspicion of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence, it’s important that you comply with law enforcement. Many accused of drunk driving are asked to take field sobriety tests. Field sobriety tests are used to determine how intoxicated an individual is. In the state of New Jersey, you do not have to take a field sobriety test, and you cannot be arrested or ticketed for refusing to do so. However, remember that you have the right to opt not to share unnecessary information with the police. Under the United States Constitution, you are entitled to work with an attorney and do not need to discuss any details of your physical or mental state with a law enforcement officer without that lawyer present. If you share information with the police that accidentally incriminates you, it may be hard to have your charges dismissed or reduced in court. Some individuals nervously share untrue information or incriminate themselves on accident. The best way to avoid this situation is by keeping quiet and contacting a DWI attorney as soon as possible. Only you attorney can guide you through the process that follows and ensure you set yourself up for success come your day in court.
At The Bianchi Law Group, LLC, our team of attorneys has earned success with thousands of DWI cases for New Jersey residents. As soon as you are in trouble for drunk driving, enlist the help of a DWI attorney. The only way to ensure you have the best possible legal defense is by working with a DUI lawyer, but not all defense attorneys have the same knowledge and breadth of experience that those at The Bianchi Law Group, LLC do.
The defense attorneys at The Bianchi Law Firm, LLC are former prosecutors and certified criminal attorneys, rendering them highly qualified to give expert legal advice to anyone with a DUI conviction. If you’ve been charged with a DUI/DWI, you need The Bianchi Law Firm, LLC on your side.
What are the Penalties for a DWI in New Jersey?
When you work with a DUI attorney, you stand a fighting chance at having your DWI arrest charges reduced or entirely dismissed. Depending on the specifics regarding your arrest and whether or not you have a criminal background, the associated penalties may be extremely high. Even the percentage of alcohol in your blood that’s determined by field sobriety tests can increase your imminent penalty.
In the state of New Jersey, a DWI is categorized as a traffic violation rather than a felony or a misdemeanor. Despite only being classified as a traffic violation, driving while intoxicated is still a serious crime and is penalized as such under New Jersey state law. Depending on the mitigating circumstances, the municipal court may opt to escalate your charge to a misdemeanor or felony, which will increase the nature of your punishment. Penalties vary on a case to case basis, and it’s impossible to know exactly what the outcome of your case will be until you consult with a lawyer.
An individual’s first DWI charge may yield a fine of up to $1,000 or in some cases, a jail sentence of up to one year. These are viewed as typically much more minor penalties and are reserved for first-time offenders and those without any prior convictions whatsoever, DWI/DUI related or otherwise. However, because a DWI is a driving violation, your insurance will likely skyrocket and cost you thousands of dollars over time. Some insurance companies drop coverage and will not work with drivers who’ve incurred moving violations such as these. Again, every case is different, and even a first-time DWI charge comes with harsh penalties if the accused individual was severely impaired or caused extreme damage to themselves and others. Without proper legal representation, you run the risk of high fines, jail time, court-mandated rehabilitation courses, or even the loss of your license- even if it’s just your first charge.
A second or third offense DWI will result in more severe penalties than a first offense. An individual convicted for a second or third offense DWI will likely face monetary fines, a jail sentence, loss of their license or rehabilitation courses, of which your attendance is required. Any driving infraction will increase your insurance premium, which can cost an individual thousands of dollars over time.
Those who have prior convictions may be required to install a breathalyzer (breath test machine) in their vehicle. This tests the individual’s blood alcohol content every time they drive. Your vehicle will not start unless you are sober. The installation of this type of technology is costly and many find it embarrassing or shameful for others to see. However, this is a commonly administered penalty for those with a DWI case.
Considering every kind of driving violation is a demonstration of your ability to use precaution and be safe on the road, your insurance company may increase your payments or even drop your coverage entirely. If you’re deemed a high-risk driver, it can be impossible to find insurance that will cover you for a reasonable price.
Additionally, some DWI charges will add as many as twelve points to your license. A DWI also puts your license at risk to be suspended or revoked entirely, as a driver’s license is deemed a privilege that can be lawfully redacted if need be. A license suspension can last for as long as six months to many years, which greatly impacts your ability to get from point A to point B, drive to work, or continue to live life as you currently do.
The sooner you contact a lawyer, the better your chances of having your penalties reduced. Just like first offenders, repeat offenders will face a high monetary fine and a more increased probability of needing to serve jail time.
A DUI conviction will change your life forever. Even the most minor penalty of paying a fine can cause financial hardship on an unsuspecting person, and if your penalties are more severe than a fine, you will certainly need to act fast in order to have these charges reduced. Contact a defense attorney as soon as possible to minimize the risk of a long jail sentence or other life-altering penalties.
Is It Possible To Get a DWI Charge Dismissed?
It’s impossible to know what penalties you might receive without consulting with a DUI lawyer. At The Bianchi Law Group LLC, our attorneys are certified criminal attorneys and experts in their field. Many lawyers at The Bianchi Law Group, LLC are former prosecutors who have extensive criminal penalty knowledge that can be applied to your DUI case.
In short, it is possible to have your DWI charge dismissed. But if you choose to defend yourself in court and don’t enlist the help of an attorney, it will be difficult if not impossible to do so. You need to work a DWI attorney who understands the full scope of the law in order to form a strong DWI defense case. Only a DWI lawyer from The Bianchi Law Group, LLC will have the experience of a former prosecutor and can predict what legal proceedings may lay ahead. In order to have the best possible outcome, enlist the help of one of our DWI lawyers at The Bianchi Law Group, LLC.
A DWI lawyer can skillfully assess the way in which your traffic stop was executed in addition to how the evidence was collected at the scene. Evidence plays a large role in DWI defense, as an illegal traffic stop or search and seizure can invalidate your case, which works in your favor. If there are any issues regarding the specifics of your arrest or the way in which law enforcement acted, your charges may be dropped. Not all DWI attorneys in New Jersey have the breadth of DWI defense experience that The Bianchi Law Group, LLC has. Our team can skillfully handle any type of DWI case- first, second, or even third offenses.
If your charges cannot be dropped, there are methods a DWI defense attorney can take to have your charges reduced as much as possible. In certain situations, your lawyer will work to construct a plea deal that can be presented before a judge in order to demonstrate your compliance. Pleading is the beginning stage of a lawsuit in which parties formally submit their claims and defenses. If you choose to plead guilty under the guidance of a lawyer, the municipal court judge may drop one of your charges. If a plea deal is applicable to your case, your attorney will advise you and help you through this situation.
The possibility of reducing your charges is one of the most important reasons why you need to hire an attorney. A situation as serious as a DWI should not be taken lightly. You will need strong, aggressive legal representation to grant you the best outcome possible. If the dismissal of your charges is not possible, your criminal defense lawyer from The Bianchi Law Group, LLC will advocate on your behalf in court in order to demonstrate your eligibility for a minor penalty. The sooner you call, the stronger your case will be.
Why Should I Work With The Bianchi Law Group, LLC?
Our lawyers are Certified Criminal Attorneys, a certification held by the New Jersey Supreme Court that states attorney has the experience, expertise, and credentials to prepare and take a case to trial, thus positioning your case for the most favorable results.
The attorneys at The Bianchi Law Group, LLC are former prosecutors who specialize in criminal trial law and criminal investigations. When you’re arrested for driving while intoxicated, you can’t work with just any DWI attorney. With so much at stake, you need to turn to a DWI lawyer that understands how to handle your specific DWI case, in order to grant you the most minimal charges possible.
Not all DWI lawyers care about the individual involved. Other law firms charge for consultations and accept whatever DWI charges the judge decides to give you. Our attorneys are aggressive, hardworking, and understand how much you have at stake. We will fight every step of the way to ensure your penalties are as minor as can be.
The attorneys at The Bianchi Law Group, LLC are seasoned trial attorneys with extraordinary skills that have been developed as former prosecutors through many years of courtroom trial experience. By choosing to work with the attorneys at The Bianchi Law Group, LLC, you will find that having such skilled and experienced attorneys working on your case will provide you comfort as they assist you to navigate the uncertainties of the legal system.
What are the First Steps?
Contact The Bianchi Law Group, LLC as soon as you have been charged with a DUI. Contact our Parsippany-Troy Hills office at 862-210-8570 to schedule your initial consultation. We proudly work with any New Jersey resident in need of legal help and pledge to listen to your side of the story and provide smart legal advice for moving forward.
You have the right to feel confident regarding the legal proceedings you’re about to face. Remember, the sooner you contact qualified legal help, the stronger your case will be. Trust The Bianchi Law Group to use their decades of courtroom experience to grant you the best outcome possible regarding your DUI/DWI case.