Have You Or A Loved One Been Accused Of Theft By Deception in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, theft crimes can result in serious penalties- from heavy fines to a lengthy jail sentence. Both crimes and offenses of theft are taken seriously under New Jersey state law, and it’s important to mitigate the penalties or build a strong case for your defense if you or a loved one have been accused of this type of theft.
Not all property theft crimes are penalized in the same way, and whatever punishments and penalties an individual could face depends on the circumstances under which the crime was committed. For this reason, it is crucially important that people understand the specific criminal charges that they could face after committing a property theft crime in New Jersey.
At The Bianchi Law Group, our team of former prosecutors defends our clients who have been accused of theft by deception – and many other types of theft. Our goal is to understand the circumstances under which this criminal act allegedly occurred and build a strong case for your defense that minimizes your penalties as best as possible.
What Is Theft By Deception?
Under New Jersey state law, a person is guilty of theft by deception if he purposely:
- Creates or reinforces a false impression (law, value, intention, or other state of mind). This includes a false impression that the person is soliciting or collecting funds for a charitable purpose;
- Prevents another from acquiring information which would affect his judgment of a transaction; or
- Fails to correct a false impression which the deceiver previously created or reinforced, or which the deceiver knows to be influencing another to whom he stands in a fiduciary or confidential relationship.
What Penalties Apply To Theft By Deception In New Jersey?
Under New Jersey state law, criminal penalties for theft by deception charges will be graded based on the value of the alleged theft. A value of $75,000 or more is a second-degree crime, and taking property valued between $500 and $75,000 is a third-degree crime. If the value is between $200 and $500, the theft is a fourth-degree crime, and it is a disorderly persons offense if the value is under $200.
If you are found guilty of a second-degree crime, you face up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $150,000. For a third-degree crime, you face up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000, and for a fourth-degree crime, you face up to 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. For a disorderly persons offense, you face up to six months in county jail and a fine of up to $1,000.00.
Additionally, theft by deception arrests or convictions will stay on your record unless it is expunged. A criminal history can mean the difference between getting a job and not. An employer may ask for a criminal record check, see the arrest or conviction, and consider you untrustworthy for employment at their company because of your criminal history.
I’ve Been Accused of Theft By Deception. What Do I Do Now?
It is important to know that any theft by deception case in New Jersey is exceptionally serious and can result in you receiving life-changing penalties. Having the right legal team can provide you with the maximum benefits.
The Bianchi Law Group is comprised of a team of former prosecutors whose experience will provide you with a well-crafted defense. They will aggressively fight for your legal rights and will not hesitate to bring your case to trial and fight on your behalf to get you the best legal outcome possible. Having the proper legal defense in your corner can make all the difference.
Call the Bianchi Law Group today to discuss your case.